Merry Christmas, war is over

…So this is Christmas, and what have you done? Good question. I usually write a reflective post around this time of year to think about what progress, if any, I’ve made towards my goals and objectives. This last year has been bit of strange one, for me personally as much as for most of the world in general. Seismic changes have taken place, for better or worse there’s no going back. In that sense, war is over, but there’s no clear winner; 2016 has brought a series of events which have been a real challenge to deal with.

My new role has pushed me to the edge of my survival skill set, there have been times when I’ve wondered whether to simply quit, walk away and take interim roles through an agency because I just didn’t know whether I could cope. But over the last 9 months I’ve faced down one crisis after another in terms of conflicts, demands, incompetence, mismanagement and scarce resources and somehow it hasn’t broken me. So it feels like I’m more at peace with the situation. And I’ve got a lot to be grateful for – if I hadn’t taken this role I would never have met my wonderful partner, who saved me in so many ways, or helped me to save myself from some of the poor decisions I had made over the last few years, which at this point last year I couldn’t even see or acknowledge, even though Christmas had come to be an incredibly stressful and painful time that meant having to face all the difficulties that came with being in a relationship with someone who was still married to someone else and had another family. I was truly miserable, but in denial, which was clear from the outside but not to me.

This Christmas couldn’t be more different. I’m happier than I have been in years, happier than I imagined I could be. We have a whole new set of plans and goals which we’re working on together and, touch wood, are going well so far. I’m not going to list them as I did last year, I’ve realised there’s not a lot of point to doing that – if 2016 showed us anything it’s that all bets are off, anything can happen. But, as a wise person once said to me, uncertainty is a friend, a friend who can bring you more than certainty ever could.

Merry Christmas, war is over. Let’s see what 2017 has in store…

 

 

 

 

About Joanne Fry

LocalGov manager, aspiring writer, Politics and Public Policy bore, Feminist, ballroom dancer, dog lover. All views my own.
This entry was posted in Career, Family, Issues, Leadership, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Merry Christmas, war is over

  1. planet says:

    You have wisdom, strength and passion – you’re wonderfully equipped for this life. X

Leave a Reply

